I find that the best way to get the most tender, flavorful and juicy meatballs is to quickly sear them then cook over low heat covered until done. I use the same method to make my famous beer brats, extra tender chicken wings and other dishes. It only takes less than 30 minutes to cook these meatballs to the internal temperature of 160F. Don’t worry,  the temperature will continue rising after you take them off the heat, reaching 165F in a few minutes.

To keep turkey meatballs moist, I add chicken broth, bread crumbs and minced onion to the mix. Instead of onion, you can also try leeks. I like using both interchangeably. To boost the flavor, I sautee the onion and the garlic. Sauteeing softens them up, removes harshness, and adds flavor. Even more flavor comes from the freshly grated Parmesan cheese and Worcestershire sauce. Worcestershire is a must; it adds a beautiful savory zing.

I could say that these meatballs are so moist and tender that they don’t need any sauce. But I won’t. I like my turkey meatballs with a little bit of gravy, the recipe for which I provided below. Gravy and garlic mashed potatoes. A comforting dinner for a cold winter night. Or make turkey meatball sandwiches with sourdough bread or brioche buns. If you are looking for a lighter and healthier version, serve them with roasted vegetables, or a zesty tomato and cucumber salad. These meatballs are delicious, both freshly made and re-heated the next day. I like having leftovers for lunch. I recommend reheating them the same way they were cooked – in a pan over medium-low heat until the internal temperature reaches 160F. If you’d like to freeze these meatballs, place them in a vacuum sealer bag, with the sauce, and freeze for a couple of hours, unsealed. Once the meatballs are firm, seal in a vacuum sealer and freeze for up to 3 months.    

Turkey Meatballs - 32Turkey Meatballs - 51Turkey Meatballs - 65Turkey Meatballs - 35